Lyle Pickett awarded SAE John Johnson Award

2012 SAE President, Frank O. Klegon, Dr. John H. Johnson, Michigan Technological University and award winners Lyle Pickett, Cherian A. Idicheria, Caroline L. Genzale, and Dennis L. Siebers

CRF researcher Lyle Pickett was recently awarded the 2011 SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines. Lyle was recognized for his paper: “Relationship Between Diesel Fuel Spray Vapor Penetration/Dispersion and Local Fuel Mixture Fraction.” Co-authors on the paper were CRF researchers Dennis L. Siebers and Mark P.B. Musculus and collaborators Julien Manin, who was at the Universidad Politecnica de Valencia and has returned to Sandia as a post-doctoral researcher, Cherian A. Idicheria from the GM R&D Center, and Caroline L. Genzale at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

The SAE John Johnson Award recognizes the lead author of an original and outstanding technical paper presented at an SAE meeting on the subject of diesel engines in the on- or off-road industries. The paper must be published in SAE International’s Journals and must address research advancements in diesel engines regarding efficiency and low emissions achieved by innovative experimental and modeling research of the engine, fuel, and/or aftertreatment systems.